Automation Award

EatonEU SmartWire-DT Award_264   EatonEU SmartWire-DT People Award_264

The Automation Award is the most important prize in the automation sector in Germany.

At the 2009 SPS/IPC/Drives fair in Nuremberg, the technical publication “elektro Automation” of the Konradin media group staged the Automation Award competition for particularly innovative products.

All exhibitors at the fair were able to compete with their innovative new products. A jury made up of the VDMA, ZVEI (German Electrical and Electronic Manufacturers' Association) and the editor team of "elektro Automation" nominated the Top10 products for the Automation Award 2009 from the 78 products submitted.

The nominated products were then exhibited at the stand of the Konradin media group over the course of the SPS/IPC/Drives fair. Visitors were able to vote for their personal favorites from these “Top 10 products” during the fair. After the participation of around 2200 visitors to the SPS/IPC/Drives fair, the result of the Automation Award 2009 had the following result: The winner was Eaton with SmartWire-DT®.

SmartWire-DT®, Eaton's innovative connection and communication system received 21.5 percent of the votes. Bosch Rexroth took second (21.1 %) place whilst Saia-Burgess came third (15.3 %).

The Automation Award was officially presented on 26.01.2010.